From Prairial to Pop Culture. Day Ten: A Literary quiz

Books

Ending the revolution, even in fiction, has challenged many a writer over the ages.  Will you be up to the challenge?  Match the endings with the authors and titles.

Endings:

  1.  “He turns then, and sees me, and his whole face breaks into a smile. For me. And my heart feels so full that it hurts. Full of love for this man I’ve found.  And for the brother I lost. For the mother who came back.  And the father who didn’t. Full of love for a girl I never knew and will always remember. A girl who gave me the key.  It goes on, this world, stupid and brutal. But I do not. I do not.”
  2. “When the late reconciliation took place, between Robespierre and Danton, we remarked that it proceeded rather from the fear which these two famous revolutionists entertained of each other, than from mutual affection; we added, that it should last only until the more dexterous of the two should find an opportunity to destroy his rival. The time, fatal to Danton, is at last arrived. …. We do not comprehend why Camille Desmoulins, who was so openly protected by Robespierre, is crushed in the triumph of this dictator.”
  3.  “Five and thirty years have now passed, since Chapeau was talking, and the Vendeans triumphed in the restoration of Louis XVIII to the throne of his ancestors. That throne has been again overturned; and, yet another dynasty having intervened, France is again a Republic. How long will it be before some second La Vendée shall successfully, but bloodlessly, struggle for another re-establishment of the monarchy? Surely, before the expiration of half a century, since the return of Louis, France will congratulate herself on another restoration.”
  4. “It is a far, far better thing that I do, than I have ever done; it is a far, far better rest that I go to, than I have ever known.”

Authors and titles

1. Charles Dickens, A Tale of Two Cities (1859)

2. Anthony Trollope, La Vendée (1850)

3. Jennifer Donnelly, Revolution (2011)

4. Hilary Mantel, A Place of Greater Safety (1993)

2 thoughts on “From Prairial to Pop Culture. Day Ten: A Literary quiz

Leave a Reply

